Balance… It’s all about balance

One thing I’ve struggled with recently is balance. Primarily, with balancing my time.

I’ve been working as a freelance writer. It’s been great. It’s been fun and it’s been extremely rewarding.

One of the drawbacks of this has been, for me, that my time and energy have been going completely towards my projects. I haven’ been able to focus so much on my own work–my own dream.

I haven’ been able to blog. I haven’t even been able to finish my own stories.

It’s frustrating. It’s extremely frustrating.

I remind myself that working as a freelancer is still helping me. I’m getting experience and I’m honing my craft. I’ve gotten tons of great feedback and I’ve been able to identify aspects of my writing I need to improve.

But still, I’m a ghostwriter. I’m not getting credit for what I write. It comes with the territory, and I’m not complaining. Honestly, I’m not.

It’s a give and take, though. I’m gaining experience but I’m not really getting closer to fulfilling my dreams. It’s my own fault though. It really, really is. I do have time to write my own stories or work on a blog post. I simply choose not to.

Instead of focusing on what I should, instead of using my free time to do the things that would benefit me as a writer, I slump back in my chair, open Facebook or Netflix, and relax.

Yes, we all need to relax from time to time.

But, using the excuse that I haven’t been posting or writing because “I’m too busy working on projects” is completely unviable. I need to have the drive, dedication, and motivation to believe in myself. I need to focus on me from time to time.

And focusing on me does not mean binge watching Friends for the 20th time.

It’s about balance. It’s about learning to prioritize my time.

It’s definitely something I need to work on…

2 thoughts on “Balance… It’s all about balance

  1. HI, I really believe awareness is key. I know so many people who say I don’t have time to work out or volunteer, yet they have time to binge watch Netflix shows! Once they begin to prioritize, then it gets a lot easier. You are already there-you recognize where the time is going, so you will figure this out! Don’t be too hard on yourself, give it some time.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and checking it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

